(This covers a selection of the work between 10/04/2017-16/04/2017)

The last major update I’ve had to make to my project is adding animation to the hands when typing. My mindset when deciding how I wanted to animate the typing was to create motions that were detailed enough to be believable, but also nothing over the top that would distract from the core actions of the character in reaction to their situation.

As there are no changes in the camera through the animation, where the typing may have potentially been out of view, every time the character typed had equal importance. so I set up two deciding factors on how I would spend my time animating the fingers when typing.

  • How fast is the character typing in each Batch?
  • How long do these Batches occur for?

(Batches is a term I used to describe the groups of typing sounds that occurred periodically through the clip)

I’ve put emphasis on Batches due to the time constraints I am under to complete my project. If animating the hands turned out to take up a significant amount of time (which it fortunately didn’t), I’d have to prioritise which batches get priority when animating.

 

How fast is the character typing in each Batch?

I used this as a deciding factor as the faster the character types, the less detail has to be put into matching up the animation with the clicks due to the sound of the clicks merging together.

Where as when the character is typing slower, the more emphasis on the individual sounds have on the viewer. So time has to be spent making sure that each clicking sound is matched with the hand animation.

How long do these Batches occur for?

Batches by themselves are a quick and easy indicator to show how long sections of animation would take to animate. Larger batches would likely take longer time to animate than smaller batches.

But when you start to incorporate aspects like what Batches take priority (in my case all batches are equal due to the camera setup) and the speed of the typing in each Batch, the workload for each Batch could change quite significantly.

Batches with a significant amount of fast typing would get less attention that batches made up of slow typing. But if the batches of fast typing take up a significant amount more of time, then I’d have to spend more time on that batch compared to others.

 

Breakdown of My Animation

Through my animation, I had 3 Batches

batches2

Each of the Batches were split up into groups of 2 to 8 clicks. I made notes on how long and fast each group were, which help me prioritise which batches I had to animate first.

groups

Once I started working on the batches, I made notes on which frames each click occurred. From there I set the hands in key positions on top of the ‘click frames’. Once all of the key positions were set, I smoothed out the transitions between them.

