(This post consists of the work between February 13th and February 19th)

Pre-Vis Blockouts

After completing the storyboards for the eight audio clips, I created pre-visualisation blockouts in Max to help with the perspectives and compositions of the shots within the clips.

  • Jaws:
    I was fairly happy with my composition of the shot before I created it in Max, so I didn’t have to change anything. Although not shown in the shot I’ll likely place some lighting of the face and upper body, while the background is in darkness, to mimic the exaggerated shadows from a torch on someones face when they re telling a ‘scary story’. This lighing could be revealed to be a nightlight.

    jaws-blockout
  • Feelings:
    Like the Jaws composition, the 3DS Max blockout ended up in a similar composition to my initial storyboard layout. The only issue with this clip at this point is that the character walks quite a bit through the clip, which will require time to animate.
    I forgot to mention it in with the storyboards, but if I chose this clip for production, I’ll likely add a light rain sound effect for background ambience.

     

  • Hands:
    I initially had issues when storyboarding this scene, problems which then continued into the Pre-Vis.
    The first image was the only shot I could fit both the character and the gingerbread man in clearly, but as soon as the character moves to a sitting position, they moved out of optimum placement in the scene. Yet if I change the camera position so the character is placed neatly in both positions, the gingerbread is now out of shot. This could be fixed by cutting a a single shot of the gingerbread when it enters the scene and then cutting back to the character, but as I said in the previous blog post, I’m trying to avoid any camera movement unless I have a good reason for it.
    Due to the contining issues with this scene, I have decided to drop it as a option for the final product, as it is taking to long to fix the issues I’m having with it compared to the other scenes.

     

  • Hands Magnets:Compared the storyboards, I added some additional assets to this shot (the mug and lamp) to make it more like a space that’s lived in, and to give something that the character could interact with during the clip.
    The lamp I added, gives an added bonus of highlighting the character in the shot, guiding the viewers attention to him.

     

  • Pirate Door:
    I like the composition of this clip, except there’s nothing special about the way I’ve set it up. The bar and the bottles set the scene up nicely, but beyond that are useless set pieces that just required extra time to create.
    An additional problem with the shot is that if I want to include the edge of the table in shot, it adds a gap where you might expect the other character, which could confuse the viewer on where they might be. So this scene might be better to include two characters, which I’ve stated in my proposal I likely will not do.
    I also talked to someone about this scene, and they suggested perhaps cutting away to show the door they are looking at for a second or so, showing the viewer what the character are actually looking at. I could then potentially cut back to the door at the end of the scene to show an additional door that is marked ‘Pirate’.
    These are some nice ideas that I could work on in the future, but like the ‘Hands’ clip, require to much time to work on, so I may drop this as a potential clip for the final product.
    pirate_blockout_1
  • Smoking: Almost in the opposite sense to the ‘Pirate Door’ clip, this shot contains too little of an environment. Even once I add a backdrop to it, I feel like the scene will be lacking. I also can’t choose how I’ll frame the character, whether I’ll put them in a wide shot or medium shot.
    Due to the uncertainties of this clip, I’ll also drop this one as a possibilities for my final product.

     

  • The Sherlock Look:
    There’s something about the composition of this shot which I really like. Despite being a wide shot of the character where the lower body is in full view, it won’t add to much work to the scene as they’ll be sitting on a stool for the majority of the scene.
    I also feel like I can get a great performance out of the character in this scene while they are using the stool as a prop.
    Sherlock_Blockout_1.png
  • What Have you Done?:
    Like the ‘Pirate Door’ shot, the production required for this is reduced due to the fact the lower half of the character is hidden by the bench.
    Despite not including any in the pre-vis, this scene could include a number of props that the character could interact with to help with their performance.WhatHaveYouDone_Blockout_1.png

 

